Skip to main content

Department of Chemical Engineering historical records, 1986-2000

 Series — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UA 1328 Series 1

Scope and Contents

Contains college council minutes, meeting records, class schedules, and undergraduate and graduate catalogues. Materials dated 1986-2000.


  • 1986-2000


Conditions Governing Access

Restricted. Closed for 35 years from the date of creation of the records, and thereafter open to the public in accordance with the University Archives Policy.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to publish material from the Department of Chemical Engineering records must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Coordinating Committee.

Administrative History

From the Collection:

The Department of Chemical Engineering (1977-2004) was an instructional unit at Brigham Young University.

Chemical Engineering at Brigham Young University was officially initiated in 1955 with the renaming of the Department of Chemistry to the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering. Only 1 full-time faculty member taught the chemical engineering courses at that time. In 1958, a separate Department of Chemical Engineering was formed, by this time with three faculty members. The undergraduate program was first accredited in 1961 and has been accredited ever since. A Masters degree in chemical engineering was approved in 1962, and the PhD program received approval in 1968.

The Department of Chemical Engineering was established in 1977. Originally the Department of Chemical Engineering Science, the name was changed and the department was placed under the College of Engineering Sciences and Technology. The department offers professional training and degrees at the Bachelor's, Master's, and PhD levels, with the intention of creating new technologies and products to improve the quality of life.

Department chairs include Dee H. Barker (1978-1979), Richard W. Hanks (1979-1985), Douglas N. Bennion (1985-1991), Richard L. Rowley (1991-1996), Kenneth A. Solen (1996-2002) and W. Vincent Wilding (2002-2004).


3 boxes

Language of Materials