Skip to main content

Brigham Young University. Department of Geological Sciences



  • Existence: 2006-

Administrative History

The Department of Geological Sciences (est. 2006) is part of the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences at Brigham Young University.

Since the creation of the Department of Geological Sciences in 2006, Jeffrey D. Keith had been the department chair. Prior to 2006 the department was called the Department of Geology.

The Department of Geological Sciences offered undergraduate degrees in Earth and Space Science Education and Geology (with an optional emphasis in Environmental Geology). Offered minors included Geology and Geology Teaching. A graduate degree was also offered in Geology. Some of the diverse disciplines included general geology, plate tectonics, geochemistry, geophysics, paleontology, environmental geology, petroleum geology, hydrogeology, paleoclimatology, and planetary geology.

BYU Organizational History Project, December 12, 2012 (Department of Geological Sciences; College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences; creation 2006; Department of Geology; Earth and Space Science Education; Geology; general geology; plate tectonics; geochemistry; geophysics; paleontology; environmental geology; patroleum geology; hydrogenology; paleoclimatology; palentary geology.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Department of Geology records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UA 1196
Scope and Contents

Collection pertains to the Department of Geology and includes meeting minutes, scholarship information, TA contracts, geology newsletters, photographs, negatives, slides, annual reports, comencement programs, spring research conference programs and theses. Dates range from 1971-2009.

Dates: 1971-2009