Skip to main content

Utah's eighth state legislature

 Collection — Folder: 1
Identifier: MSS 2192

Scope and Contents

1 oversize black and white photograph of the Eighth State Legislature of Utah. 49 x 41 cm. Includes individual photos of members of both the House and the Senate, the clerical staff of both legislative bodies, and a photo of the Governor, as well as a photo of the City and County Building. Each photo is identified. The photograph is mounted on cardboard. Mounting is damaged and curling.

Scope and Contents

Governor: Williams Spry; Members of the House of Representatives: E. W. Robinson (Speaker), George A. Fuller, J. M. Murdock, Joseph M. Holt, M. A. Nelson, Emery King, O. L. Thomson, L. L. Baker, C. Y. Russell, H.A. McMillin, P. P. Dyreng, C. John Smith, J. H. Wooton, C. L. Funk, M. Jensen, C. R. Dorius, Daniel McRae, Joseph Hodges, Brigham Clegg, W. M. McMillian, Norman G. Allan, Rock M. Pope, James B. McCracken, H. P. Randall, W. S. Hayes, F. Nielson, C. H. White, A. F. Haycock, J. R. Porter, E. C. Ashton, William Archibald, B. H. Bower, B. Barnett, T. L. Holman, J. N. Davis, J. W. Thornley, J. N. Henrie, J. J. G. Webster, E. J. Eardley, Thomas England, David H. Morris, F. B. Hammond, Joseph J. Cannon, T. J. Parmley, W. S. Hansen, Joseph Howell.

Scope and Contents

Members of the Senate: Henry Gardner (President), Reed Smoot, W. C. Horsley, Benner X. Smith, John H. Seely, Jas. B. Wilson, R. W. Sevy, J. A. Hyde, Rudolph Kuchler, S. J. Stookey, Charles E. Marks, John Y. Smith, Albert E. Miller, H. Bullen, Jr., E. T. Hulaniski, A. Brinkerhoff, Carl A. Badger, W. N. Williams, Christopher Burton, Jr.

Scope and Contents

House Officers: C. F. Wells, George Searle, James A. Kelly, S. W. Jenkinson, J. R. Bachman, W. H. Croft, E. T. Wooley, Florence Hull, N. L. Sheffield, Andrew Morris, Joseph Steele, Alex Buchanan, Jr. (Chief Clerk), F. M. Gavin, Mabel G. Carpenter, Alfred Alder, C. R. Jones Senate Officers: A. Spence, C. G. Y. Higgins, W. A. Lee, E. Erickson, B. Bachman, D. James, W. R. Thompson, Sadie Foss, J. Van Wagner, H. L. Cummings (Secretary), Rev. J. E. Carver, H. C. Boden, J. E. Hill, John Saxey, W. E. Jenkins, H. E. Steele.


  • 1909 January 1


Conditions Governing Access

Open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to publish material from Utah's eighth state legislature must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Board of Curators.


1 folder

Language of Materials


Custodial History

Family photograph. Donor's grandfather, C. R. Jones, is in the photograph as part of the clerical staff.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

John Charles Jones.


Photographs (Photograph Archives).

Register of Utah's eighth state legislature
Abe Austin
2012 April 05
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English in Latin script.

Repository Details

Part of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Repository

1130 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo Utah 84602 United States