Skip to main content

Joseph Smith typescripts of letterpress books

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: MSS 2033

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of typescripts from nine letterpress books written by Joseph Smith III, which spans the period from 1876 to 1897. The letterpress books document the presidential years of Joseph Smith III and his correspondence with members of the RLDS and LDS Churches.


  • 1876-1897


Conditions Governing Access

No photocopying allowed. This collection is open for reference use only. All requests for permission to publish items from the letterpress books must be approved by the Church Archivist, Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, World Headquarters, P.O. Box 1059, Independence, MO 64051.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to publish material from Joseph Smith typescripts of letterpress books must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Board of Curators.


4 boxes (2 linear feet)

Language of Materials


Custodial History

The books are in the possession of the RLDS Church and were created by Joseph Smith III, president of the RLDS Church. Because of the books' deterioration, Ronald Romig, RLDS Church Archivist, loaned the items to BYU. Special Collections and Manuscripts made typescripts from the originals from 1991-5 and then returned the original books to the RLDS Church.


19th Century Western and Mormon Manuscripts.

Register of Joseph Smith typescripts of letterpress books
In Progress
Garrett Schroath
2011 March 11
Description rules
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English in Latin script.

Repository Details

Part of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Repository

1130 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo Utah 84602 United States