Skip to main content

American Journalism Historians Association newsletters, 1983-2012

 Sub-Series — Carton: 14, Folder: 17-45
Identifier: MSS 2138 Series 3 Sub-Series 2

Scope and Contents

Newsletters from the American Journalism Historians Association, dated 1983 to 2012. The first issue is simply called the AJHA Report. From 1984 to 1986 the newsletter is called S.O.N., which stands for Something Old, Something New. From 1986 on the newsletter is called The Intelligencer.


  • 1983-2012


Conditions Governing Access

Open for public research.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to use material from this collection must be obtained from Reference Services at

Administrative History

From the Series:

Officially begun in 1982 on the Southern Methodist University campus, the American Journalism Historians Association (AJHA) is an organization committed to advancing education and research in mass communication history and recognizing achievement in teaching and research of journalism and mass communication history. Its founding members included Donald Avery (who became the organization's first president), Maurine Beasley, Michael Buchholz, Lloyd Chiasson, Sidney Kobre, Frank Krompak, Robert Lance, Michael Murray, Darwin Payne, Alf Pratte, and William David Sloan. The AJHA carries out its mission through research, scholarly publications, awards, annual meetings, and regional colloquia. It began sending out a newsletter called Something Old/Something New in 1984, later changed to The Intelligencer in 1986. In the summer of 1983, the AJHA published the first edition of their scholarly quarterly journal, American Journalism. Various committees and task forces on membership, publications, education, research, conventions, and other ad hoc committees have driven the organization's mission over time. The AJHA recognizes achievements in media history studies through the Sidney Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History and the Margaret A. Blanchard Dissertation Prize.


39 folders

Language of Materials