Skip to main content

Craig McDaniel general papers on Boy Scouts of America, 1919-2013

 Series — Multiple Containers
Identifier: MSS 9230 Series 2

Scope and Contents

Contains pamphlets and other published materials intended to instruct scouts and their leaders regarding rank advancement and general Boy Scouts of America procedure. Contains cards meant to accompany merit badges and other BSA awards. Contains a flash drive and photographs. Materials created 1919-2013.


  • 1919-2013


Conditions Governing Access

Open for public research.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to use material from this collection must be obtained from Reference Services at

Biographical / Historical

From the Collection:

Craig Norton McDaniel was born May 10, 1952, in American Fork, Utah. He married Kathy Carter and attended Brigham Young University where he studied business management. Craig worked for Waxie Sanitary Supply as a salesman and sales manager, retiring in 2017. He was also extensively involved with the Boy Scouts of America for over 40 years. In the 1990s, he became the lodge advisor for the Tu-Cubin-Noonie Lodge of the Utah chapter of the Order of the Arrow. As advisor, he was awarded the Silver Arrowhead Award in 1998, and the Founders Award in 1999. He also received the prestigious Silver Beaver award in 1990 for his contributions to the Boy Scouts of America Utah National Parks Council. Craig passed away on September 29, 2020, in Utah.

Biographical / Historical

From the Collection:

Scouts BSA, previously known as the Boy Scouts of America, was founded in the United States in 1910 by W. D. Boyce and Robert Baden-Powell, though Baden-Powell first began the movement in England in 1907. The organization was incorporated to teach boys "patriotism, courage, self-reliance, and kindred values." From the beginning, scouts were encouraged to serve their communities and participate actively in outdoor activities like camping and hiking. The program was granted a federal charter on June 15, 1916. Councils and lodges were later established all over the country. In 2018, the organization began accepting female scouts to the program, leading to the name change in 2019 from "Boy Scouts of America" to the more general "Scouts BSA".

Biographical / Historical

From the Collection:

The Order of the Arrow is the National Honor Society for Scouts BSA (formerly Boy Scouts of America). The Order of the Arrow was founded July 16th, 1915, by E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson at the Treasure Island Scout Reservation on an island in the Delaware River, U.S. Started as an experimental honor society at the reservation called "Wimachtendienk", meaning "Brotherhood" in a local native dialect, extensively borrowing traditions and rituals from the Masons, the program began expanding into several surrounding states.

In 1921, the society's name was changed to the Order of the Arrow and, since then, more than a million Scouts have participated in its activities and ceremonies. Several lodges, comprised of smaller units called Chapters, exist across the United States. Currently, more than 160,000 youth and adults are members of the Order of the Arrow all around the world.


10 folders

6 boxes

Language of Materials