Skip to main content

Department of Chemistry records

Identifier: UA 510

Scope and Contents

Contains the general department files, the Production Department files, and files of the department chair and faculty of the Chemistry Department at Brigham Young University, dated 1927 to 1976. Includes faculty papers of Leo P. Vernon and Hugh W. Peterson.


  • 1927-1976


Conditions Governing Access

Restricted. Closed for 35 years from the date of creation of the records, and thereafter open to the public in accordance with the University Archives Policy. Photographs in folders 17 and 18 are condition restricted, items kept in cold storage.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to use material from this collection must be obtained from Reference Services at

Biographical / Historical

The Department of Chemistry was established and made a department within the School of Arts and Sciences in 1920 when the Church Teachers College was split. In 1921 the department became part of the College of Arts and Sciences, and was later transferred to the College of Physical and Engineering Sciences in 1954. In 1973, the department was moved into the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences. The department was disbanded in 1995 to form the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Department chairs included Charles E. Maw (1920-1945), Joseph K. Nicholes (1946-1956), H. Smith Broadbent (1955-1958), Keith P. Anderson (1958-1960); Albert D. Swenson (1960-1964); Loren C. Bryner (1964-1966); J. Rex Goates (1966-1968); K. LeRoi Nelson (1968-1972); Richard T. Hawkins (1973-1975); Eliot A. Butler (1975-1978); Nolan F. Mangelson (Acting Chair 1978-80, Chair 1980-1981); J. Bevan Ott (1981-1990); and Earl M. Woolley (1990-1994).


16 boxes (8 linear ft.)

3 folders (0.06 linear ft.)

Language of Materials



Arranged in nine series: 1. Department of Chemistry chair general records, 1948-1965. 2. Department of Chemistry chair records, 1947-1956. 3. Department of Chemistry chair records, 1951-1961. 4. Department of Chemistry chair records, 1957-1961. 5. Department of Chemistry chair records, 1958-1963. 6. Department of Chemistry chair records, 1961-1964. 7. Production Department records, 1933-1976. 8. Leo P. Vernon faculty papers, approximately 1950-1960. 9. Hugh W. Peterson faculty papers, 1927-1962.

Custodial History

Transferred from the Brigham Young University Department of Chemistry in 1989.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred; Brigham Young University Department of Chemistry; 1989.


Departmental records (University Archives collecting policy, July 2003).

Processing Information

Processed; Hollis Scott.

Processing Information

Processed; Karen Glenn; File-level inventory added.

Register of Department of Chemistry records
James Cloward
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English in Latin script.
Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant, 2007-2008

Revision Statements

  • 2023 April 21: Added file/item level data from XML, added data from two cartons, flagged restricted materials; Karen Glenn.

Repository Details

Part of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections. University Archives Repository

1130 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo UT 84602 US