Skip to main content

Brigham Young University vice-presidential records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UA 1179

Scope and Contents

Contains office files (correspondence, reports, meeting minutes), film committee records, and department project files from the office of the Associate Academic Vice President in charge of research and graduate studies. The majority of the records are from the administrative term of Gary Hooper.


  • 1980-2001


Conditions Governing Access

Restricted. Closed for 70 years from the end date of the administration, and thereafter open to the public in accordance with the University Archives Policy.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to publish material from Brigham Young University vice-presidential records must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Board of Curators.

Administrative History

Brigham Young University (1903- ) is a university sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Provo, Utah.

Brigham Young University was established in 1903 in a renaming of Brigham Young Academy. Past and present Brigham Young University presidents include George H. Brimhall (1903-1921), Franklin S. Harris (1921-1945), Howard S. McDonald (1945-1949), (acting president) Christian Jensen (1949-1951), Ernest L. Wilkinson (1951-1971), Dallin H. Oaks (1971-1980), Jeffrey R. Holland (1980-1989), Rex E. Lee (1989-1995), Merrill J. Bateman (1996-2003), Cecil O. Samuelson (2003-2014), and Kevin J. Worthen (2014- ).

Brigham Young University is owned and operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints as part of the Church Educational System (CES). The university is governed by a Board of Trustees, which, since 1939, has consisted of the First Presidency of the Church as well as other General Authorities or general officers of the Church appointed by the First Presidency. The Board of Trustees provides general direction and oversees the formulation of broad policies as well as the approval of all executive leadership and faculty appointments at the university. The Board of Trustees delegates to the University President the responsibility to conduct the operations of the institution and administer the policies enacted by the board. The President serves as the chief executive officer and general manager of the University. Since 1996, the President of the university has also been a General Authority of the Church.

Brigham Young University has grown from a small academy to one of the world's largest private universities. Sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, BYU offers a unique educational environment that promotes learning by study and also by faith.

Administrative History

The office of the Associate Academic Vice President (est. 1972) functions under the Academic Vice President at Brigham Young University.

In the past, the four Associate Academic Vice Presidents were individually responsible for research and graduate studies, undergraduate studies, Continuing Education, and faculty. Currently, the three offices of the Associate Academic Vice Presidents are responsible for faculty, undergraduate studies, and research and graduate studies.

Associate Academic Vice Presidents have included Robert J. Smith (1972-1980), Eliot A. Butler (1981-1990), Neal A. Lambert (1981-1986), Noel B. Reynolds (1982-1986), William E. Evenson (1986-1990), F. LaMond Tullis (1986-1990), J. R. Kearl (1989-1992), J. Bevan Ott (1990-1997), Dennis L. Thomson (1990-1993), Todd A. Britsch (1992-1993), L. Robert Webb (1992-1997), Clayne L. Pope (1993-1994), John S. Tanner (1993-1999), Alan L. Wilkins (1994-1996), James D. Gordon III (1996-2001), Cheryl Brown (1997-2000), Gary R. Hooper (1997-2006), Noel B. Reynolds (1999-2004), Sandra Rogers (2000-2002), Richard N. Williams (2001-2008), K. Newell Dayley (2004-2008), Brent W. Webb (2006-2011), James R. Rasband (2008-2009), Jeffrey D. Keith (2008-2015), Craig H. Hart (2009- ), Alan R. Harker (2011- ), and Brad Lee Neiger (2015- ).


33 boxes (16.5 linear ft.)

Language of Materials


Other Finding Aids

Available online and in the Special Collections reference area.

Other Finding Aids

File-level inventory available online.

Custodial History

Transferred from Records Management, March 2005.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred; Records Management; March 2005.


Office files (University Archives collecting policy, July 2003).

Register of Brigham Young University vice-presidential records
Jennifer Kim
2011 September 12
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English in Latin script.

Repository Details

Part of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections. University Archives Repository

1130 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo UT 84602 US