Skip to main content

College of Fine Arts and Communications records on Harris Fine Arts Center, 1939-2015, bulk: 1964-2015

 Series — Box: 10
Identifier: UA 1353 Series 8

Scope and Contents

Contains records on the Harris Fine Arts Center in Provo, Utah. Includes information on its dedication, groundbreaking, and history, on art exhibits, on the history of the College of Fine Arts and Communications, and on convocations. Materials include transcripts, CDs, brochures and pamphlets, programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, and original histories. The photographs were signed in 1939; all other materials are dated 1964-2015.


  • 1939-2015
  • Majority of material found within 1964-2015

Conditions Governing Access

Restricted. Closed for 50 years from the date of creation of the records, and thereafter open to the public in accordance with the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Restriction Policy. Requests to access restricted materials in the University Archives should be submitted to the University Archivist.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to use material from this collection must be obtained from the Reference Services at

Administrative History

From the Collection: The College of Fine Arts and Communications (1963-) provides coursework and degrees in the fine arts at Brigham Young University. The College of Fine Arts and Communications was founded in 1963 following a reorganization of the College of Fine Arts. As of 2020 it consists of the School of Communications, School of Music, and the Departments of Design, Art, Dance, and Theatre and Media Arts, and has responsibility over the Museum of Art and NewsNet. The college has been administered over by the following deans: Conan E. Mathews (1963-1966), Clawson Cannon (1967), Lorin F. Wheelwright (1967-1973), Lael J. Woodbury (1973-1982), James A. Mason (1982-1993), Bruce L. Christensen (1993-2000), K. Newell Dayley (2000-2003), Stephen M. Jones (2003-2015), and Ed Adams (2015-).


1 box