Skip to main content

Ernest L. Wilkinson Student Center student advisors records, 1938-1974

 Sub-Series — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UA 460 Series 3 Sub-Series 4

Scope and Contents

Contains administrative files, including correspondence and memos, meeting minutes, reports, financial information, and news clippings.

Dates

  • 1938-1974

Conditions Governing Access

Restricted. Closed for 50 years from the date of creation of the records, and thereafter open to the public in accordance with the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Restriction Policy. Folder 34 restricted until 2055. Requests to access restricted materials in the University Archives should be submitted to the University Archivist.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances.

Permission to publish material from the Wilkinson Center and Student Activities records must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the Special Collections Board of Curators.

Administrative History

From the Series: The office of director of the Wilkinson Center was created in 1960 with the appointment of Lyle S. Curtis who assisted in the planning of the building which was completed in 1964. After the termination of the student coordinator of student organizations position held by Lavar C. Rockwood, 1962-1966, Curtis also became director of student activities. In 1970, Curtis also was appointed assistant to the dean of students.

The Wilkinson Center is considered a unique operation as it involves the student government operation and the incoming producing facilities of the building. The director and his assistants guide and coordinate student government and activities and coordinate other programs and facilities of the building.

Extent

12 boxes

5 folders

Language

English