Skip to main content

American Journalism Historians Association records on Sidney Kobre, 1981-1995

Identifier: MSS 2138 Series 4

Scope and Contents

Contains several manuscript drafts by Sidney Kobre, one of which appears to have been a collaboration with Alf Pratte. Also contains the American Journalism Historians Association records on the award given to Sidney Kobre in 1986, and correspondence between Sidney and various publishers, Sidney and Alf Pratte, and Alf Pratte and Reva Kobre regarding Sidney's death. Dated 1981 to 1995.


  • 1981-1995


Conditions Governing Access

Open for public research.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to use material from this collection must be obtained from Reference Services at

Biographical / Historical

Sidney Kobre was born in 1907 in North Carolina. In 1927, he earned his bachelor's degree in English from the Johns Hopkins University, and his in 1932 he earned a a master's in journalism from Columbia University. He also obtained a PhD in sociology from Columbia in 1944. Kobre worked as a reporter, and editor for various newspapers in Baltimore and New Jersey. He helped establish the Community College of Baltimore in 1947. From 1949 to 1964 he taught journalism at Florida State University, where he developed new methods of teaching journalism history. He later became the University's director of the Bureau of Media Research from 1949 to 1964, before returning to the Community College of Baltimore to teach until he retired in 1972. In 1986, he received the Sidney Kobre Award from the American Journalism Historians Association for distinguished service to the field of journalism history. Kobre was married to author Reva Hoppenstein for 55 years. He died in 1995.

Biographical / Historical

Officially begun in 1982 on the Southern Methodist University campus, the American Journalism Historians Association (AJHA) is an organization committed to advancing education and research in mass communication history and recognizing achievement in teaching and research of journalism and mass communication history. Its founding members included Donald Avery (who became the organization's first president), Maurine Beasley, Michael Buchholz, Lloyd Chiasson, Sidney Kobre, Frank Krompak, Robert Lance, Michael Murray, Darwin Payne, Alf Pratte, and William David Sloan. The AJHA carries out its mission through research, scholarly publications, awards, annual meetings, and regional colloquia. It began sending out a newsletter called Something Old/Something New in 1984, later changed to The Intelligencer in 1986. In the summer of 1983, the AJHA published the first edition of their scholarly quarterly journal, American Journalism. Various committees and task forces on membership, publications, education, research, conventions, and other ad hoc committees have driven the organization's mission over time. The AJHA recognizes achievements in media history studies through the Sidney Kobre Award for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism History and the Margaret A. Blanchard Dissertation Prize.


1 carton

16 folders

Language of Materials



Arranged chronologically.

Repository Details

Part of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Repository

1130 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo Utah 84602 United States