Skip to main content

Department of Aerospace Studies records

Identifier: UA 5537

Scope and Contents

Contains historical records from the Brigham Young University Air Force ROTC. Includes photographs, newsletters, biographical sketches, and scrapbooks.


  • 1952-2009


Conditions Governing Access

Restricted. Closed for 35 years from the date of creation of the records, and thereafter open to the public in accordance with the University Archives Policy.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to publish material from Department of Aerospace Studies records must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Board of Curators.

Administrative History

The Department of Aerospace Studies (est. 1966) is an instructional unit at Brigham Young University associated with the Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps.

The Department of Aerospace Studies was formed in 1966 in a reorganization of the earlier Department of Air Science within the College of Physical and Engineering Sciences. The unit was later transferred to the College of Industrial and Technical Education (1968-1973), the College of General Studies (1973-1987), the School of Management (1987-1989), and the Marriott School of Management (1989- ). The department seeks to teach principles and techniques of leadership and management in preparation for service as a commissioned officer in the Air Force and as community leaders.

Department chairs included Lt. Colonel Paul H. Sharp (1966-1967), Lt. Colonel Jesse E. Lloyd (1968-1969), Colonel L.H. Johnson (1970-1972), Colonel Richard A. Baldwin (1973), Colonel Richard B. Jensen (1974-1979), Col. Niles T. Elwood (1979-1983), Col. Kirk T. Waldron (1983-1985), Col. Gary K. Spencer (1985-1989), Col. Leonard Moon (1989-1991), Lt. Col. Gilbert Bertelson (1991-1993), Col. Robert M. Atkinson (1993-1995), Col. Maurice L. Stocks (1995-1999), Col. Frank W. Clawson (1999-2003), Col. Roger D. Maher (2002-2004), Col. Lawrence Kingsley (2004-2007), Col. Gordon J. Jacobs (2007-2009), Brent A. Johnson (2009-2012), Col. Paul M. Kucharek (2012- ).


3 boxes (1.5 linear ft.)

Language of Materials



Maintained in original order.

Custodial History

Materials were generated by the Brigham Young University Air Force ROTC and maintained in their offices until being transferred to the University Archives in June 2010.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred; Brigham Young University Air Force ROTC; June 2010.


Part of University Archives; college records (University Archives collecting policy, February 2010).

Processing Information

Processed; J. Gordon Daines III; June 2010.

Register of Department of Aerospace Studies records
J. Gordon Daines III
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English in Latin script.

Repository Details

Part of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections. University Archives Repository

1130 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo UT 84602 US