Skip to main content

Department of Mathematics records

Identifier: UA 5397
Contains meeting minutes, correspondence, and financial records documenting the functioning of the department. Materials date from between 1959 and 2006.


  • 1959-2006


Conditions Governing Access

Restricted. Closed for 50 years from the date of creation of the records, and thereafter open to the public in accordance with the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Restriction Policy. Requests to access restricted materials in the University Archives should be submitted to the University Archivist.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to publish material from Department of Mathematics records must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Board of Curators.


3 cartons (3 linear ft.)


Collection of files from the Department of Mathematics including meeting minutes, correspondence, and financial records concerning scholarships and awards, audit report, faculty meetings, gifts and grants, and software licensing.

Administrative History

The Department of Mathematics is an instructional unit at Brigham Young University.

The Department of Mathematics was formed in 1921 in the College of Arts and Sciences as part of a division of the earlier Department of Mathematics and Physics. It was later transferred to the College of Physical and Engineering Sciecnes in 1954, and to the current College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences in 1973. The department provides instruction in the field of mathematics. Chairs have included Carl F. Eyring (1921-1929, 1931-1937, 1939-1951), Milton Marshall (1929-1931, 1938, and 1953-1957), Harvey J. Fletcher (1958-1963), Kenneth J. Hillam (1964-1978), Peter A. Crawley (1978-1990), Donald W. Robinson (1990-1995), Peter W. Bates (1993-1995), Gerald M. Armstrong (1995-1998), Wayne W. Barrett (1998-2001), Lynn E. Garner (2001-2007), Tyler J. Jarvis (2007-2012), and Robin O. Roundy (2012- ).


Arranged in six series: 1. Department of Mathematics records of scholarships and awards, 1992-2006. 2. Department of Mathematics audit report, 1984. 3. Department of Mathematics faculty meeting minutes and correspondence, 1978-2000. 4. Department of Mathematics records of grants and gifts, 1996-1999. 5. Department of Mathematics records on software licensing, 1989-1996. 6. Department of Mathematics chair records, 1959-2004.

Custodial History

Transferred from Records Management in May 2008.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred; Records Management; May 2008.


Departmental records (University Archives collecting policy, July 2003).

Processing Information

Processed; Elizabeth West; May 2008. Addendum processed; Jenna Kirchhoefer; April 2015.
Register of Department of Mathematics records
Sarah Flinders
2013 July 11
Description rules
Language of description

Revision Statements

  • 2015 April 6: Addendum made and description reviewed; Jenna Kirchhoefer; April 2015.

Repository Details

Part of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Repository

1130 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo Utah 84602 United States