Skip to main content

Craig McDaniel collection of Boy Scout uniforms and insignia, 1927-2017

 Series — Multiple Containers
Identifier: MSS 9230 Series 6

Scope and Contents

Contains Boy Scout uniform pieces including caps, socks, badges, and belts, collected by Craig McDaniel. Materials created between 1927 and 2017.


  • 1927-2017


Conditions Governing Access

Open for public research.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to publish material from the Craig McDaniel collection on Boy Scouts of America must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Coordinating Committee.

Biographical History

From the Collection: Craig McDaniel was the lodge advisor for the Tu-Cubin-Noonie Lodge of the Order of the Arrow.

Craig McDaniel has been involved with the Boy Scouts of America for over 40 years. In the 1990s, he became the lodge advisor for the Tu-Cubin-Noonie Lodge of the Utah chapter of the Order of the Arrow. As Lodge Advisor, he was awarded the Silver Arrowhead Award in 1998, and the Founders Award in 1999. He also received the prestigious Silver Beaver award in 1990 for his contributions to the BSA Utah National Parks Council.

Administrative History

From the Collection: Scouts BSA (1910-) is currently the largest scouting organization in the United States.

Scouts BSA, previously known as the Boy Scouts of America, was founded in the United States in 1910 by W. D. Boyce and Robert Baden-Powell, though Baden-Powell first began the movement in England in 1907. The organization was incorporated to teach boys "patriotism, courage, self-reliance, and kindred values." From the beginning, scouts were encouraged to serve their communities and participate actively in outdoor activities like camping and hiking. The program was granted a federal charter on June 15, 1916.

Though membership has declined in recent years, Scouts BSA remains one of the largest youth organizations and the largest scouting organization in the U.S., with about 2.3 million participants and 1 million adult volunteers. Councils and lodges are found all over the country. In 2018, the organization began accepting female scouts to the program, leading to the name change in 2019 from "Boy Scouts of America" to the more general "Scouts BSA".

Administrative History

From the Collection: The Order of the Arrow (1915-) is the National Honor Society for Scouts BSA (formerly Boy Scouts of America).

The Order of the Arrow was founded July 16th, 1915, by E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson at the Treasure Island Scout Reservation on an island in the Delaware River, U.S. Started as an experimental honor society at the reservation called "Wimachtendienk", meaning "Brotherhood" in a local native dialect, extensively borrowing traditions and rituals from the Masons, the program began expanding into several surrounding states.

In 1921, the society's name was changed to the Order of the Arrow and, since then, more than a million Scouts have participated in its activities and ceremonies. Several lodges, comprised of smaller units called Chapters, exist across the United States. Currently, more than 160,000 youth and adults are members of the Order of the Arrow all around the world.


1 box

1 oversize box : Textile Box




Retained in original order.


Repository Details

Part of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Repository

1130 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo Utah 84602 United States