Skip to main content

Maurice Gardner musical works, Approximately 1940-2001

Identifier: MSS 7796 Series 1
This series contains all of Maurice Gardner's musical works including his completed works from 1940-2001 along with his incomplete musical sketches and notes. Dated approximately 1940-2001.


  • Approximately 1940-2001

Conditions Governing Access

Open to public research.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances.Permission to publish material from the Maurice Gardner musical works and papers must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Board of Curators.


10 boxes

1 oversize box

Biographical History

Maurice Gardner (1909-2002) was an acclaimed violist and composer from New York.

He began writing music at the age of 6. At age 19 he studied at Juilliard under the direction of Leopold Mannes. He had a 40 year career as a free lance composer for film, radio, and television. During this time he wrote over 600 works that also included works for instrument solos, chamber ensembles, chorus, and orchestra. He founded the Great Neck Symphony and the Staff Music Publishing Company. He was the author of the Choral Reader and The Orchestrator's Handbook. He retired in 1970 in Florida where he continued to write music till his death in 2002.


This series is organized into two subseries: 1. Maurice Gardner completed works, 1940-2001. 2. Maurice Gardner musical sketches.

Repository Details

Part of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Repository

1130 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo Utah 84602 United States