Skip to main content

Department of Music performance groups, 1973-1996

 Series — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UA 1226 Series 5

Scope and Contents

Contains materials related to performances of the Department of Music. This not only includes performances planned and executed by the Department of Music, but also performances of visiting artists and groups. Also includes a program from the Young Ambassadors from year 1986. Each performance indcludes correspondence, primarily for planning the activity, but also thank you letters after the correspondence. Handbills and posters that were created for the performance are included and some contain photos of the performance and artists involved. General costs and finances are included, but do not go into detailed analysis of costs. Newspaper clippings from the Daily Universe and local papers are also included in some collections. Materials date between 1973 and 1996.


  • 1973-1996

Conditions Governing Access

Restricted. Closed for 50 years from the date of creation of the records, and thereafter open to the public in accordance with the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Restriction Policy. Requests to access restricted materials in the University Archives should be submitted to the University Archivist.

Conditions Governing Use

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to publish material from Department of Music records must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the Special Collections Board of Curators.

Administrative History

From the Collection: The Department of Music was established within the School of Arts and Sciences in 1920. It was transferred to the College of Arts and Sciences in 1921, then to the College of Fine Arts in 1925, before becoming part of the College of Arts and Communications in 1964. The department was renamed the School of Music in 1998. Department chairs included Florence Jepperson (1920-1946), Leroy F. Robertson (1946-1948), John R. Halliday (1948-1959), Crawford Gates (1960-1966), A. Harold Goodman (1966-1981), James A. Mason (1981-1983), K. Newell Dayley (1983- 1994), Clyn D. Barrus (1994-1998).


1 oversize folder

5 cartons

1 folder