Skip to main content

Brigham Young University. Department of Military Science



  • Existence: 1968-

Administrative History

The Department of Military Science (est. 1968) is an instructional unit at Brigham Young University. The department is associated with the Army ROTC, and provides courses in military science leading to commission.

The Department of Military Science was formed in April 1968, and was initially associated with College of Industrial and Technical Education. In 1973 the department was moved to the College of General Studies, then in 1987 to the School of Management. In addition to academic instruction, the department also supports a drill team, marksmanship team, color guard, band, and chorus.

Department chairs include Colonel David R. Lyon (1968-1972), Colonel Bartley E. Day (1972-1977), Colonel Donald G. Andrews (1977-1980), Lieutenant Colonel John T. Kallunki (1980-1983), Lieutenant Colonel Brigham S. Shuler (1983-1987), Lieutenant Colonel John Norton Jr. (1987-1991), Lieutenant Colonel Paul M. Searle (1991-1993), Lieutenant Colonel Joseph L. Allred (1993-1995), Lieutenant Colonel John J. Sullivan (1995-1998), Lieutenant Colonel Donald A. Coe (1998-1999), Lieutenant Colonel Reid E. Grawe (1999-2006), Lieutenant Colonel Theodore M. Leblow (2006-2010), Lieutenant Colonel Marc Boberg (2010-2014), and Major Chanda Mofu (2014- ).

Brigham Young University Department of Military Science website, via WWW, Oct. 30, 2014 (Army ROTC; est. April 29, 1968; located in Daniel H. Wells ROTC Building, 1968; initial extracurricular activities Drill Team, Rifle Marksmanship Team, Color Guard, and the Army Sponsor Corps; later, the Army ROTC Chorus, the Army ROTC Band, and a Ranger Company were organized; Professors of Military Science include: David R. Lyon, COL (1968-1972); Bartley E. Day, COL (1972-1977); Donald G. Andrews, COL (1977-1980); John T. Kallunki, LTC (1980-1983); Brigham S. Shuler, LTC (1983-1987); John Norton Jr., LTC (1987-1991); Paul M. Searle, LTC (1991-1993); Joseph L. Allred, LTC (1993-1995); John J. Sullivan, LTC (1995-1998); Donald A. Coe, LTC (1998-1999); Reid E. Grawe, LTC (1999-2006); Theodore M. Leblow , LTC (2006-2010), and LTC Marc Boberg (2010-2014); Major Chanda Mofu (2014- ))

BYU Organizational History Project website, via WWW, Oct. 30, 2014 (Department of Military Science; est. 1968; part of College of Industrial and Technical Education (1968-1973), College of General Studies (1973-1987), School of Management (1987-1989), Marriott School of Management (1989- ))

Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:

The Brigham Young University war service letter

 File — Folder 1: [Barcode: 31197233274932]
Identifier: UA SC 28

College of Industrial and Technical Education records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UA 574
Scope and Contents The material in this collection originated mostly from the files of Dean Jeppsen, the majority being receive from him in March 1976, with some earlier material already preserved in the University Archives. Some brochures, programs and meeting minutes were added from the Current Printed Material Collection. In general, the material includes minutes, correspondence and memorandums, brochures, news clippings and newsletters, programs and various reports including the "Historical Report of the...
Dates: 1954-1974

Department of Military Science meeting minutes

 File — Folder 1: [Barcode: 31197233275475]
Identifier: UA SC 104
Scope and Contents

Contains the department meeting minutes for 1991-1993.

Dates: 1991-1993

Department of Military Science records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UA 5449
Scope and Contents

Contains student records, correspondence, minutes, and faculty files of the Department of Military Science.

Dates: 1978-1997